Hi guys!!

I just came back to Melbourne from the 2-week holiday and have so much to write about, but since this is my first blog post and if you’re reading this you’d probably want to know who I am, I’m going to introduce myself first.

10857891_927968140549115_8820369503405319458_n

I’m Jen, almost-18-year-old student from Hanoi, Vietnam. I came to Melbourne this February to start my Foundation Studies at Trinity College – University of Melbourne. It’s been lots and lots of fun, and I’m honestly so thrilled to be back to school, and this is probably the first time I’ve said this in my life.

Despite my excitement, Melbourne welcomed me back with this:

SONY DSC

I took this photo from the window of my bedroom, which doesn’t even start to convey how heavy it rained and how cold it was. I mean, I love the rain when I was inside watching it, not when I just came out of the plane with a suitcase almost as heavy as I am. Nope.

Anyway, I made it back okay, wet but safe. By the way, if you are living in Hanoi or have been there during winter, it’s worse. So I can handle it.

It’s great to be back. I mean, it really is. It actually surprised me how I missed everyone and the routine here that I’ve been so used to the last few months. The first night back we had a movie night watching the original Great Gatsby, since we’ll be studying it soon. It was such a nice evening just getting cozy eating popcorn and enjoy the movie, despite the rain outside and the fact the school starts the next day.

mia-farrow-robert-redford-the-great-gatsby-cover

First week of school was okay despite the severe weather. We got our results of the first semester. There were mixed emotions, among us and within each person. Mine was mostly great except for drama (urghh, drama, I will spend one whole post talking about it later).

I think that’s enough for my first post. I’ll be filling you in with everything going on here during my Melbourne adventure. Some of the posts will be really exciting with the activities I’m going to do outside school, but since I’m not really a party person, I’m gonna mostly post about my everyday experience at Trinity and at home, which is the two places I spend most time at. I’m also going to post about the difference between life and school here and my home country, from what I can observe. Stay tuned!

One thought on “Back in Melbourne!

  1. Hi Jen! Welcome back to Melbourne!! Coming from Hanoi where it is so hot at the moment, I hope it’s not too much of a shock for you coming back to winter in Melbourne!

    I look forward to hearing from you again soon!
    Ben

Leave a Reply

