Hello everyone! I’m Ruhisha and I’ve just recently joined Trinity College Foundation Studies in February. I’ll be sharing my travelling experiences around Australia and I hope you’ll enjoy my posts! ☺


IMG_5981 copy

Need a break from the busy city life? The Kokoda Memorial Walk, also known as the 1000 steps, which is situated at Dandenong Ranges National Park will be a nearest “hiking get-away”. It’s an approximate of a 5km hike up, and along the way, you’ll be able to indulge in the serene and ambient atmosphere. During my hike up, people were so friendly and supportive! Many of them kept encouraging us along the way especially when we were almost out of breath halfway through.

How do I get there?

Screen Shot 2016-04-02 at 1.06.09 AM(from ptv.vic.gov.au) *A reminder to always recheck the train timings, because it might vary from time to time!

What time should I start my journey?

Early in the morning, around 8! This is because the weather will be cool and pleasant. It will be peaceful to have an early hike and head to a local cafe for brunch with your friends after!

What should I wear?

Light clothes. Even if it is cold in the morning, you’ll sweat later and it will be warm! A hoodie, sports attire, and comfortable sports shoes will do the trick!

What should I bring?

Water

Phone (The view is amazing and there are cute houses at the top too!)

Energy bars (just in case if you’re hungry)

What should I do before the hike?

Make sure you check the weather a day before! If it is going to rain, don’t forget to bring an umbrella! (but if I were you, I would probably postpone the hike!)

Drop by the 1000 steps cafe and drink some coffee!

Remember to throw your trash at the railway station because there isn’t any rubbish bins during the hike!

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 presetIMG_5829Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

For more information, head to: https://visitdandenongranges.com.au/1000-steps

Sincerely yours,

1935836728223013310316.png

Leave a Reply

